top of page

Ashleigh's getting off to a flying start

There’s more to Ashleigh Stiel than her distinctive laugh; her vivacious personality is well suited to her dream job as a flight attendant for Emirates. Below is a short interview with Ashleigh about the job with some top tips on how to land yourself a job as a flight attendant and help your career take off.

Why do you want to be a flight attendant?

When I was younger, I was on a Boeing 777 to Orlando. I remember being in awe of the flight attendants; their uniforms were so classy and I thought they were so smiley and happy, I remember thinking they were so cool. I thought they looked really glamorous and I’ve wanted to do that ever since.

I’m looking forward to the day I get my uniform, I’m definitely going to be strutting around the airport. I can’t wait to travel around the world, stay in different cities and experience new cultures. A big part of that job is making people happy – that’s something to look forward to. That and sunset flights.

Do you have an idol in the industry?

Neerja Bhanoy, a Pan Am flight attendant who saved 359 lives when the aircraft was held hostage by terrorists in 1986. Sadly, she was shot and killed whilst shielding three children and helping passengers escape. The terrorists were targeting Americans and she hid passengers’ passports so that the terrorists could not identify the Americans on board. Airlines are a lot more strict now and passengers and crew are a lot safer than in the 80s.

What are phalanges?

Bones in your fingers and toes.

How do you fit the job profile?

I have 18 months of customer service experience which is a must. As one of the main responsibilities as a flight attendant is to ensure the comfort of passengers I think the fact that I’m a nice person and enjoy making people smile is really important. I’m also quick to pick up new skills and since I’m so passionate about the job I will be totally committed.

What have you done so far to reach your goal?

I work at Lego and have 18 months of customer service experience. I’m practicing known assessment day and interview questions. I use Instagram to follow pilots and flight attendants, it helps me keep up with their day-to-day lives and I can ask them for advice at any time. I use a website called Flight Attendant Central (www.flightattendantcentral.com) for advice on applications, how to apply and what skills I should focus on developing. I can’t apply until I’m 18 years old so I’m gaining as much experience as I can until then.

How do you apply for the job?

You can apply online at www.crewlink.ie, www.gocabincrew.com and official airline websites. You have to apply online and if you’re successful you will be invited to an assessment day.

What Qualifications do you need?

At least a C at GCSE in Maths, English and Science.

Other interesting facts about Ashleigh:

Ashleigh once saw David Cameron eating Paprika flavoured Pringles on an easyJet flight.

J.K. Rowling has liked TWO of Ashleigh's tweets.

If you need help applying for roles like this, advice on how to become the perfect candidate or have any questions about working for airlines then why not find Ashleigh Stiel in Year 13 or Miss Mattison will be happy to help.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page